- The Short Answer: No Official CTAL-TTA Pass Rate Exists
- Where the 71% Figure Comes From (and Why It Misleads)
- What the Exam Structure Tells You Instead
- Chapter Allocation: Where the Points Actually Sit
- Why Third-Party Pass-Rate Claims Conflict
- Honest Difficulty Signals You Can Verify
- Who Sits This Exam: Prerequisites as a Filter
- Retakes and the Cost of a Failed Attempt
- A Points-Weighted Study Plan
- How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You Find
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ASTQB does not publish a pass rate for CTAL-TTA specifically; any exact figure you see is unofficial.
- The roughly 71% ASTQB figure divides worldwide certifications by exams across ISTQB; it is not a CTAL-TTA rate.
- Passing requires 51 of 78 points (at least 65%) on 45 questions in 120 minutes.
- Quality Characteristics for Technical Testing carries the most weight: 13 questions and 21 points.
The Short Answer: No Official CTAL-TTA Pass Rate Exists
If you searched for the CTAL pass rate hoping for a clean number, here is the honest finding: the pass rate for the ISTQB Certified Tester Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst exam is not publicly disclosed. Neither the American Software Testing Qualifications Board (ASTQB), nor its exam registrar AT*SQA, nor the international ISTQB publishes a pass percentage for this specific credential.
That matters because many pages on the web present a confident-looking figure for the Technical Test Analyst exam. When you trace those figures back, they rarely point to an issuer source. This article separates what the data actually supports from what is guesswork, then shows you how to turn the verifiable exam mechanics into a realistic preparation strategy.
Where the 71% Figure Comes From (and Why It Misleads)
The number you will most often see is "approximately 71%." ASTQB has published an overall estimate of that size. The important detail is how it was calculated: it divides the aggregate number of worldwide certifications by the number of exams, using May 2025 totals.
That methodology has several consequences for anyone studying for the Technical Test Analyst exam:
- It is an aggregate, not a per-exam rate. Foundation Level exams, which far more candidates take, are included alongside Advanced Level exams. Foundation volumes can dominate a blended figure.
- It is not specific to CTAL-TTA. The calculation does not isolate the Technical Test Analyst exam from Test Analyst or Test Management exams.
- It reflects a snapshot. Totals taken at one point in time say nothing about cohort differences, syllabus version changes, or how preparation habits shift.
- It cannot tell you your odds. Even a verified per-exam rate would describe a population, not you. Your outcome depends on your coding fluency, testing experience, and how you prepare.
In short, the 71% figure is a useful sanity check that ISTQB exams are passable by prepared candidates, but it should never be quoted as "the CTAL pass rate." For a deeper look at the difficulty question, read How Hard Is the CTAL Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
What the Exam Structure Tells You Instead
When a pass rate is unavailable, the exam's published structure is the most reliable data you have. These numbers come from the official ASTQB Exam Structure Tables and exam rules:
| Element | CTAL-TTA Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 45 multiple-choice |
| Available points | 78 |
| Passing threshold | At least 65% of available points (51 of 78) |
| Time allowed | 120 minutes |
| Extra time (non-native language, eligible candidates) | 25% extra, giving 150 minutes |
| Question style | One or multiple responses; technical scenarios and code analysis |
| Format | Closed-book, proctored |
| Standard U.S. fee | USD 249 (same for online and test-center delivery) |
| Validity | Lifetime; no renewal requirement |
Two details deserve attention. First, the exam is scored by points, not by question count: 78 points are spread across 45 questions, so some items are worth more than others. Second, the pass mark is 51 points. That means you can miss up to 27 points and still pass, which is a useful way to frame risk during practice exams. For the full scoring explanation, see CTAL Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Chapter Allocation: Where the Points Actually Sit
Because no pass rate is published, the next-best predictor of exam readiness is knowing where the points are concentrated. The official Exam Structure Tables allocate questions and points across the six syllabus chapters as follows:
| Syllabus Chapter | Questions | Points |
|---|---|---|
| The Technical Test Analyst's Tasks in Risk-Based Testing | 2 | 2 |
| White-Box Test Techniques | 8 | 17 |
| Static and Dynamic Analysis | 7 | 14 |
| Quality Characteristics for Technical Testing | 13 | 21 |
| Reviews | 5 | 13 |
| Test Tools and Automation | 10 | 11 |
Note that the syllabus does not publish official percentage weights, so this article does not convert these allocations into percentages. What the raw numbers do show is clear enough on their own.
Quality Characteristics for Technical Testing: 13 Questions, 21 Points
This is the single biggest allocation on the exam. You cannot pass comfortably while neglecting it.
- Expect scenarios that ask which quality characteristic is at stake and which test approach fits.
- Be ready to reason about technical attributes such as performance, security, reliability, maintainability, portability and resource behavior.
- Practice distinguishing similar characteristics under time pressure.
White-Box Test Techniques: 8 Questions, 17 Points
Fewer questions than Quality Characteristics, but a high points-per-question ratio, which suggests heavier items.
- Work through code-based coverage problems by hand: statement, decision, condition and MC/DC style reasoning.
- Practice deriving the minimum test sets that achieve a stated coverage level.
- Rehearse reading short code listings quickly and accurately.
Static and Dynamic Analysis: 7 Questions, 14 Points
Another high-density area with two points per question on average.
- Know what kinds of defects static analysis detects and what dynamic analysis finds at runtime.
- Be prepared to interpret control-flow and data-flow concepts in code snippets.
Notice the contrast with Test Tools and Automation: 10 questions but only 11 points, so many of those items carry roughly one point each. And The Technical Test Analyst's Tasks in Risk-Based Testing contributes just 2 questions and 2 points. A candidate who over-invests in the smallest chapters at the expense of the heaviest ones is making a points-allocation mistake. The full chapter-by-chapter breakdown is in CTAL Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Why Third-Party Pass-Rate Claims Conflict
Search for a CTAL-TTA pass rate and you will find several competing numbers across prep vendors and practice-test hubs. They conflict for predictable reasons:
- No source data exists. Without an issuer-published figure, any exact number is an estimate, a marketing claim, or a recycled aggregate.
- Different exams get conflated. Some pages blend Foundation, Test Analyst, Test Manager and Technical Test Analyst results into one "ISTQB pass rate."
- Outdated or mismatched exam details. Pages that misstate the question count or timer are often copying older or non-ASTQB structures, which undermines every other number on that page.
- Training-provider incentives. A vendor selling courses or practice banks has reason to present exams as either comfortably passable (to encourage enrollment) or formidable (to justify the price).
The practical lesson: treat any pass rate that lacks a named issuer source as unverified. It is better to say "unknown" than to anchor your expectations on an invented number.
Honest Difficulty Signals You Can Verify
Without a pass rate, you can still gauge difficulty from facts that do not depend on anyone's estimate:
- It is an Advanced Level exam. The syllabus expects relevant programming and system-architecture knowledge, so this is not a vocabulary-recall test.
- Code analysis appears on the exam. Questions can present technical scenarios or code, and you must reason about them, not just recognize terms.
- Multiple-response items exist. Some questions require selecting more than one correct answer, which punishes partial knowledge.
- It is closed-book and proctored. You cannot look up coverage formulas or definitions mid-exam. Online delivery does provide an on-screen calculator and notepad.
- The threshold is firm. 51 of 78 points is a fixed bar, not a curve.
Key Takeaway
Because the pass rate is undisclosed, measure readiness against the exam itself: take the official sample exams under timed, closed-book conditions and aim to clear the 51-of-78-point threshold with margin. Remember the official samples are version 4.2 and are compatible with syllabus v4.0, so match your study materials to that syllabus rather than assuming a newer one exists because the calendar year changed.
Who Sits This Exam: Prerequisites as a Filter
One reason a blended pass-rate figure is unreliable is that CTAL-TTA candidates are a self-selected group. To sit the exam you need the ISTQB Foundation Level certification and sufficient practical testing experience. The ASTQB page specifies three years; AT*SQA describes approximately three years or equivalent. Candidates holding a prerequisite certificate from another board or provider must submit proof through their AT*SQA account before the exam.
Training is optional, and no separate degree, reference or mandatory training-hour gate is published. This means the candidate pool ranges from developers-turned-testers with strong coding backgrounds to test engineers who are newer to white-box reasoning. Those groups face quite different difficulty, which is another reason a single headline pass rate would say little about any individual. For the full eligibility picture, see CTAL Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Employers that look for this credential tend to be those hiring testers who work close to code and architecture: automation engineers, performance and security-minded testers, and quality engineers on technically complex systems. For a sense of the job market, see CTAL Jobs.
Retakes and the Cost of a Failed Attempt
Since you cannot lean on a comforting pass-rate statistic, plan around the cost of a miss. The standard U.S. exam fee is USD 249, with no member or nonmember split published and the same voucher price for online and test-center delivery. Training is a separate expense.
Retakes normally require another purchase. ASTQB may run conditional free or discounted retake offers, so check the current ASTQB retake guidance before you book rather than assuming one applies. The exam is delivered by AT*SQA, ASTQB's official registrar, using Kryterion/Webassessor at testing centers or through online proctoring.
The financial logic is simple: a thorough first-attempt preparation costs far less than a second voucher plus the delay. Because the credential is valid for life with no renewal or continuing-education requirement, you only need to pass once. See CTAL Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown for the full cost picture, and CTAL Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for booking logistics.
A Points-Weighted Study Plan
Generic study advice is everywhere; what is useful here is sequencing by where the points sit and where the prerequisites stack. One possible six-week arrangement, adjusted to your background:
White-Box Test Techniques (17 points)
- Start with the coding-heavy chapter while your energy is highest.
- Hand-trace coverage problems, including MC/DC style reasoning.
Static and Dynamic Analysis (14 points)
- Build directly on Week 1's code-reading skills.
- Cover control-flow and data-flow ideas and what each analysis type finds.
Quality Characteristics for Technical Testing (21 points)
- Give the largest allocation two weeks.
- Create comparison notes distinguishing similar characteristics and their test approaches.
Reviews, Risk-Based Testing Tasks, Test Tools and Automation
- Reviews carry 13 points; Test Tools and Automation 11; the risk-based tasks chapter just 2.
- Do not let the small chapters consume disproportionate time.
Timed Sample Exams
- Take the official v4.2 sample exams closed-book against the 120-minute limit.
- Review every wrong option, not just wrong answers, and re-study the chapters they map to.
For a fuller walkthrough, see the CTAL Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the CTAL Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. When you are ready to pressure-test yourself, the CTAL practice tests on the main site let you rehearse the question style before exam day.
How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You Find
Use this short checklist whenever a website quotes a CTAL-TTA pass rate:
- Does it name the issuer? A real figure should cite ASTQB, AT*SQA or ISTQB directly, with a link.
- Is it specific to Technical Test Analyst? Not Foundation, not Test Analyst, not Test Management, and not "ISTQB overall."
- Does the page get the basics right? If it misstates the 45-question, 78-point, 120-minute structure, discount its other claims.
- Does it match the syllabus version? Syllabus v4.0 and the v4.2 sample exams are the current reference pair; a 2026 article date does not imply a 2026 syllabus.
- Is it selling something? Check whether the number conveniently supports a course or practice-bank purchase.
If a claim fails these tests, set it aside. And if you are weighing whether the exam is worth attempting at all, pair this reading with Is the CTAL Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CTAL Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, which treat pay and return on investment with the same evidence-first approach.
Frequently Asked Questions
It is not publicly disclosed for this exact credential. ASTQB's roughly 71% overall estimate divides aggregate worldwide certifications by exams using May 2025 totals, so it does not establish a CTAL-TTA pass rate.
You need at least 65% of the available points. The official structure table specifies 51 of 78 points across 45 multiple-choice questions, with 120 minutes allowed.
Quality Characteristics for Technical Testing has the largest allocation at 13 questions and 21 points. White-Box Test Techniques follows with 17 points, then Static and Dynamic Analysis with 14.
Retakes normally require purchasing another exam voucher at the standard USD 249 U.S. fee. ASTQB may offer conditional free or discounted retakes, so check its current retake guidance before booking again.
Eligible candidates taking the exam in a non-native language receive 25% extra time, which extends the 120-minute exam to 150 minutes. Confirm eligibility and request details through your AT*SQA account.